Journey to Code: The Flatiron School

In a couple of weeks, I will be starting the February 6, 2016 cohort of The Flatiron School, which is a 12-week coding bootcamp in New York City. So thousands of dollars later and the prospect of spending many hours learning, training, and coding with other students, the end goal becoming a software developer (with a focus in web development).

What’s the deal with bootcamps?


Coding bootcamps are training courses that teach students from all walks of life fundamental skills needed to become immediately employable. Coding bootcamps offer various quirks that’ll appeal to wide audiences. Whether it be if you want to participate in-person or do it online or the the field you want to go into, such as web development or mobile development. Bootcamps are a great switch from a non-computer science career, but some bootcamps may have those with some experience.

Basically story of my life. I graduated with a degree in computer science, but chose to go with a non-computer science job for various reasons. I made the leap to move from Boston to NYC in another non-computer science job, but wanted to go back to my programming roots. So I left my job, applied to various bootcamps, and was fortunate enough to be accepted into The Flatiron School, which I ultimately chose to attend.

So what happens next?


Well, in the coming days and weeks, I plan to blog my experience during my time with the bootcamp, which was a good incentive to start this blog in the first place. I still have about 2 weeks of funemployment, but more required pre-work to finish before my first day. Pre-work comprises of various tracks to complete before the program starts. In my case, it involved learning the basics of Ruby, Git, HTML and CSS, just a few relevant web development languages. This wasn’t so bad as I’ve had prior coding experience in college, so there wasn’t a huge learning curve when picking up a new language.

There’s also a few personal things I want to do as well, like learn to use WordPress and create my own sites and definitely do my best keeping with this blog.

