GIT with it! (T-minus: 7 Days until Flatiron School)

As the title suggests, I only have 7 days until the first day of beginning Flatiron. Luckily, I was accepted into the program early enough to get a good head start on the pre-work that’s assigned to each student. I thought I’d spend some time going over some of the subjects that were used as practice before the first day over the course o.

Oh GIT, where were you?


Ahhh GIT. What a love-hate relationship I have with GIT. Although I studied Computer Science in college, there wasn’t any real mention of the importance of GIT. In fact, whether due to my lack of knowledge, I didn’t hear about GIT until the end of my college years. And like any new thing, I found it hard to take the time to learn to use GIT outside of having to need to. But after having gone through the lessons that were assigned as well as me playing around, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel when it comes to GIT.

For those who don’t know, GIT is a version control system for tracking changes in various files allowing for more coordination when multiple people are involved. Of course, knowing this before, I thought it wouldn’t be that useful. I mean, as a student, the only person I worked with was myself. There wasn’t much opportunity to be involved with a group of people. But imagine a scenario in which you write a bunch of code and Hell breaks loose and then all that code is gone. In fact, I thought having external hard drives would be enough, but that’s not the case (I lost mine…).

With GIT, you can store initial versions of code, edit it and if need be, revert back to the original at any time. Now imagine having multiple people involved. I can recall handing code files to other people and a big issue was consolidating all the changes. With GIT, you can choose which version that was uploaded to use.

Final Thoughts…


So rule of thumb, take the time to learn GIT. There’s not that many commands and after awhile, it becomes repetitive enough that it’s easy to retrace your steps if something wrong happens. I like to use this resource page as a reference to the GIT commands I use on a daily basis.

Until next time on Journey with JVP

Leave a Reply

